Meet the diamonds purity scale

The diamonds are the hardest minerals of the earth and one of the most beautiful that is found in nature. But not all are perfect, so used a scale depending on its purity that will cause them to be more or less valuable.

diamonds purity

This mineral is the one that has more hardness of all known, which has therefore to be able to carve it used another diamond. Depending on the type of size it will have one way or another and this will make it be called in different ways. There are numerous types of size, from the brilliant, princess to the marquise cut.

The same applies to the scale of purity along with other factors such as weight, color and certification, makes a diamond more or less valuable, is what is called the 5c’s of diamond, which are the criteria followed, according to the National Gemological Institute to determine the quality and value of the piece. In this case we will talk about the scale of purity that measures imperfections that have this diamond in particular.

Inclusions which determines the purity of the diamond
The inclusions are internal marks with some diamonds and what determines its purity. And depending on the size, number and position of these makes a diamond more or less valuable, because the purer the diamond shine and reflect light, making it more scarce and valuable. Below follows purity scale depending on the diamond inclusions having:

FL Flawless/without inclusions: No internal or external inclusions visible any type for an expert with a 10-power magnification. These diamonds are the rarest and the most expensive and difficult to obtain.

If Internally Flawless/without internal inclusions: Contains no internal inclusions visible to an expert with a 10-power magnification, but may have some external irregularities in the finish. Along with the FL is the most rare and expensive to get diamonds.

Then the scale is divided between VVS-1 and VVS-2 Very Very Small Inclusions 1 and 2 and then continue with VS-1 and VS-2 Very Small Inclusions 1 and 2. These ranges define an inclusion visible from only a tiny expert with a 10-power magnification, up to several very small visible inclusions under magnification of 10x.

Following are 1.2 and 3 SI ranging from small visible inclusions under magnification of 10x to level 3 containing visible imperfections to the naked eye by a trained observer.

Finally there are the levels I 1, 2 and 3, which means imperfect, ranging from flaws that are visible to the naked eye until several imperfections that diminish the brilliance and compromise the structure of the diamond, which can make it easier to break.

Related Jewelry Topics
Diamond Clarity – How Much Does It Really Matter?
diamond clarity

Diamonds have been a jewel of choice for decades now. They are associated with love, romance, and are the most Read more

Black Diamonds: Origin and characteristics
black diamond

The black diamond is very different from the more commonly known such as those white species. Its color and hue Read more

5 Different Diamond Shapes Most Popular among Girls
Different Diamond Shapes

At the point of selecting a jewel, you should first of all consider its shape. Each jewel shape is uniquely Read more

Buy Diamonds
buying diamond jewelry

When you start the process of buying diamond jewelry, there are many factors that you should consider. For starters, you Read more

Tagged : /